Creating Users

You can create users whom you would like to grant access to one or more shares on your Drobo 5N. For additional information, see Creating and Using Shares.

There are four types of users reserved for special use:

         Admin – the administrator, who has access to all users and administrative controls. This user cannot be deleted and is given Read-Write access to every share automatically.

         Everyone – includes any user who is connected to the Drobo 5N over the network. This user can be given access to shares without password protection.

         All Users – all users you have created. Users must use their passwords to access shares to which they have been given rights.

         Guests – any user who signs in to the Drobo 5N over the network as a guest. Guests only have access to the Public folder.

Note: You need to be logged in as the administrator to create users. There is only one administrative user per Drobo device.

1.     In Drobo Dashboard, on the All Drobos page, select the Drobo 5N on which you would like to create users.

2.     Click the Shares option on the Navigation menu.

The Share page opens.

3.   Click the Share Settings button.

The Share Settings page opens.

4.     Be sure the Users view displays by clicking the Users View FS_UsersViewButton.jpg button in the upper-right portion of the page.

5.   At the bottom of the 1. Select a user area, click the Add button.

The Add User dialog page opens.

FS_AddUserDialogPage.jpg

6.   In the Username text box, enter the name for a user you would like to create.

Note: The user uses this username when logging into the Drobo 5N.

7.   In the Password text box, enter a password for this user.

8.   In the Confirm Password text box, re-type the password for the user.

Note: The user uses this password when logging into the Drobo 5N.

9.   Click the OK button.

The new user displays in the list under Users on the Share Settings page.

10.    Repeat steps 5 through 9 to create additional users.

11.  Do one of the following:

         You can now assign users access rights to your share(s).

         Otherwise, if finished, click the OK button on the Share Settings page to save your changes.

Your settings are saved and you are returned to the Shares page.

See Also

Assigning Users Access Rights to a Share

Deleting Users

Creating and Using Shares