Assigning Users Access Rights to a Share

Once you have created shares on your Drobo 5N and created users, you can give (or modify) users access rights to one or more shares.

Access rights include: no access, Read-Only, and Read-Write. You can assign (or modify) access rights in one of two ways:

         For a selected share, assign access rights to one or more users. (This is done in the Shares view of the Share Settings page.)

         For a selected user, assign access rights to one or more shares. (This is done in the Users view of the Share Settings page.)

Notes:

-        If you are modifying access rights to a share, the new access rights will not affect users currently accessing that share until the next time they connect to that share. If you would like to enforce the new access rights immediately, the best way to do this is to restart the Drobo 5N, which forces all users off of the share.

-        You need to be logged in as the administrator to assign users access rights to shares. There is only one administrative user per Drobo device.

To Assign Users Access Rights via the Shares View, click here

To Assign Users Access Rights via the Users View, click here

 

See Also

Creating and Using Shares